Theology on the Web helps over 2.5 million people every year to find high quality theological resources that will help to equip them to serve God and to know Him better (2 Timothy 2:15). Like other websites that provide free services, it is dependent on donations to enable it to grow and develop and only 0.004% of visitors currently do so. If you would like to support this site, please use one of the options to the right of this message.

Book Description

Kingdoms of Our Lord. A History of the Hebrew Kingdoms from Saul to the Fall of Jerusalem
Publication Year:
The Paternoster Press
Old Testament, History, 1 & 2 Samuel, 1 & 2 Kings, 1 & 2 Chronicles
Copyright Holder:
David F. Payne. Reproduced by permission of the author.

Table of Contents

  • List of Illustrations
  • Abbreviations
  • Preface
  1. Israel before the Monarchy
  2. Prelude to Monarchy
  3. The First King: Saul
  4. David's Rise to Power
  5. David's Later Years
  6. The Reign of Solomon
  7. The Early Divided Monarchy
  8. Syria Rampant
  9. New Prosperity
  10. The Fall of Samaria
  11. The Reign of Hezekiah
  12. Judah's Decline and Fall
  13. The Philistines
  14. Transjordan and Amalek
  15. Syria
  16. Phoenicia
  17. Egypt
  18. Assyria
  19. Babylon
  20. The Enemy Within: the Canaanites
  21. The Enemy Within: False Religion
  22. The Early Period
  23. The Eighth Century
  24. Jeremiah and his Contemporaries
  25. The God Who Speaks
  26. The God Who Acts
  27. The Future Perspective
  • Appendix: The Chronology of the Hebrew Kings
  • Select Bibliography
  • Index of Biblical Passages
  • General Index